The Scheme – Flying Squirrel Award (FSA)

The FSA Scheme is a progressive programme formulated for all children aged 7 to 13 as preparation for the Duke of Edinburgh Award available in the senior years of the school.

The scheme involves some compulsory and some voluntary elements. The compulsory elements in the main will be carried out and completed as part of the school day, while the voluntary elements will be extensions of a lesson or carried out during after school activities or outside school altogether.

The Holme Grange challenges will be built upon as the children progress through the activities and through school.

The scheme has been split into seven main challenges, listed below, all of which encompass a number of varying tasks and activities. The children will be expected to work towards achieving the best grade within their chosen areas. These grades will be recorded over the academic year and accumulate towards an award at the end of Years 4, 6 and 8.

  • Continued...

    The Aim:

    The aim of FSAS is to give the children a sense of achievement and purpose both in and outside of the normal curriculum. Widening their horizons through challenging activities to:

    • work independently and as part of a team
    • develop leadership skills
    • learn new and practical life skills
    • develop common sense
    • develop a sense of community build self-confidence and self-reliance
    • challenge pupils and take them out of their comfort zone

    The range of activities is planned in such a way that it is progressive and the pupils experience a range of activities that have been divided into the following areas for Years 3 to 6:

    •  The Activities:
    1. Environment
    2. Cooking
    3. Crafts
    4. Interaction
    5. Outdoor Learning
    6. Service
    7. Skills

    Activities for Year 7 and 8 are divided into subject areas, including the Service element.

    *Please note, the activities listed are just ideas. If you have a better or different idea that covers the aim, then feel free to adapt.

    • The Grades:

    Each child will work towards gaining a gold, silver or bronze award for each activity completed. At the end of each activity pupils will be graded with a gold, silver, bronze or no award. The criteria for grades will include effort, enthusiasm, behaviour, understanding, teamwork and leadership.

    1. Gold – attended all sessions; worked with enthusiasm at all times; excellent behaviour; showed excellent understanding, teamwork and/or leadership.
    2. Silver – attended 90% of sessions; worked with enthusiasm most of the time; good behaviour; showed good understanding, teamwork and/or leadership.
    3. Bronze – attended over 70% of sessions; work lacked enthusiasm but activity was completed; acceptable behaviour; good understanding but lack of teamwork and/or leadership.
    4. No award – attended less than 50% of sessions; lacked effort or enthusiasm; activity incomplete, inconsistent behaviour; shows understanding but unable to work as a team and /or leader.

    These award certificates will be given as a child completes a challenge. At the end of Year 4, 6 and 8, the number of gold, silver and bronze awards will be collated and the children will be awarded the following:

    • Commendation (majority gold)
    • Distinction (majority silver)
    • Pass (majority bronze)

    Teachers use discretion when using the above attributes to award the grades above. The challenge, award, teachers signature and any comments are to be recorded on the sheet (see appendix I) held in the children’s personal folders.

    The children are expected to make every effort to complete at least 70% of the course and are able to fail a section, if for example they do not attend an activity or lack the effort.

    FSAS is about self-achievement and giving to others, both extremely important attributes in the world we live in today.

    This new scheme is a positive move towards producing the well rounded child that one expects to emerge from an Independent school with much more on offer for the children after school, there is little reason why any child should not fulfill their own potential outside the academic curriculum.

    The children will receive a sticker corresponding to their reward at the end of an activity (see Appendix II). These stickers will be collected in their personal folder. According to the number of gold, silver or bronze awards the children will be presented with a certificate at the end of the school year (see Appendix III).

    The name

    Each squirrel has their own special qualities that make them unique, but all share the following spirit:

    Squirrels have excellent skills of agility, dexterity and reflex. Bounding quickly but cautiously from tree to tree, or running precariously but adeptly over fence tops and telephone wires, squirrels are the acrobats of the animal kingdom. Learning how to maneuver risky situations without toppling is part of the Flying Squirrel Award Scheme (FSAS). Always having a goal in sight is another aspect of these furry creatures. Knowing when to stop and listen, and knowing when to move along, is one of the Squirrel’s best teachings. Another is to remain curious, but cautious. A Squirrel is always up for a challenge, and especially when they feel they will gain something through their efforts.

    The most notable trait of the squirrel is his excellence at preparing for the future. Meeting your future with readiness will be much easier if you follow the way of the Squirrel.

    Squirrel teaches the importance of balancing work and play. They show the necessity of striving for a balance between work and play in order to keep healthy in mind, body and spirit.